The Earwaker Family

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough!

-Mae West

Get To Know Us

We are a family of South African and British origins who love nothing more than to travel the world and document our adventures. This is our travel journal which is mainly focused on globetrotting, wildlife, photography, facts, reviews and advice!


I was born in Ipswich, Suffolk in 1970. Despite that, I discovered a passion for hill walking and have bagged a number of Scottish Munros as well as climbing Kilimanjaro and Margherita Peak in the Ruwenzoris with Tracy. I have a BSc (Hons) in Computer Science and despite that love the great outdoors: camping, hiking, diving, skiing, sailing and am fortunately quite practical so do lots of DIY at home. My passion is cooking and we enjoy fine dining whether we are on a city break or camping. Hockey and cycling keeps me fit at home. My favourite t-shirt states “I am not afraid of anything, I am married to a South African”!


I was born in 1968 in Port Elizabeth and grew up in beautiful Durban by the sea – hugely patriotic to South Africa. I met my soul mate Paul when travelling in the UK and we embarked on an Around the World trip with Trent in 1994/1995. We are very proud of our three children who we have enjoyed so many adventures together with. I have a BSc (Hons) degree in Zoology and am passionate about wildlife and conservation. I received sponsorship for my PhD from English Nature to research the endangered species of butterfly called the Heath Fritillary,  Mellicta Athalia in Kent. I am proactively involved with volunteering as a South African National Parks Virtual Honorary Ranger and serve on the Regional Management Committee as Treasurer. I am never happier than when in the great outdoors: camping, hiking, diving, skiing, sailing …but nowhere beats the African bush! Travel is so important because it is liberating in its challenges, enhances tolerance and extends your perspective encouraging learning and self growth. My greatest achievement is abseiling down Table Mountain as I am terrified of heights!  We live in Berkshire with our menagerie. I stay healthy by jogging and doing yoga. Since reading this quote from Mae West as a teenager, this has been my life motto, “You only live once, but if you do it right – once is enough!”


My parents started my travels early. I had climbed Rhino’s Peak in the Drakensberg when I was 4,  summited active volcano Mt Merapi in Indonesia at midnight and completed the Annapurna Circuit in Nepal during my 5th year whilst we backpacked around the world and then conquered Kilimanjaro when I was 7.  Gaining my BSc (Hons) Zoology from Newcastle Uni was enjoyable, as was obtaining my FGASA Level 1 and PADI Rescue Diver certification in South Africa as post uni gap year. Hockey keeps me fit and I enjoy our snowboarding trips in winter. My fiance, Katie and I left London City life to travel in our self built campervan with our two dogs  whilst working remotely and traveling through the UK and Europe. We have now returned and live in a rural location with our 3 dogs where Katie is a dog trainer from home…we are getting married in August 24.


My parents left to travel on 20 November 1994 and returned on 20 November 1995 and I was born on 20 November 1996. An auspicious date. After completing a BA (Hons) Criminology degree at Durham (Collingwood) I enjoyed a gap year in Australia and then met my parents to travel with them in Vietnam and Cambodia. Prior and post that, backpacking with friends in Thailand, Laos and India were also great experiences as has been volunteering at a rhino orphanage in SA. I have completed a Masters at York in Psychology and am currently doing a Doctorate in Forensic Psychology with the University of Birmingham. I enjoy hockey, netball, riding and skiing and have spent time in South Africa undertaking my FGASA Level 1 and try to squeeze in some travelling when time permits.


Ever since I can remember I have always been an animal lover. I loved studying at Oxford Brookes University undertaking a BSc (Hons) in Animal Biology and Wildlife Conservation. I then joined a veterinary practice and am studying to be a vet nurse and hope to take my skills to Africa to work with big game once completed. My most memorable independent travel was when I did a 4×4 road trip from South Africa through Namibia and Botswana to Zimbabwe with a group of friends. I enjoy hockey, netball, riding and skiing . Volunteering at Care for Wild with orphaned rhinos was a highlight. I will do my FGASA Level 1 in South Africa once I complete my studies. Until then the pets and poultry at home keep me very busy!

Where We Have Been So Far...